top of page


​Sì Xiàng

​张天阳 Zhang Tianyang

for Orchestra 

"Xiang" are The Four Symbols, which are four mythological creatures in the Chinese constellations. They are the Azure Dragon of the East, the Vermilion Bird of the South, the White Tiger of the West, and the Black Turtle of the North. Each one of them represents a direction and a season, and each has its own individual characteristics and origins.

These four small pieces are telling their origins, the forming progress among ancient villager, who always tried to find a proper totem as a belief. When somebody requested wind and rain, which could help fields grown well and steady live, he found the Black Turtle; when he prayed for happiness, the Vermilion Bird sowed the seeds of joy ; when he needed a ritual for auspicious omen, then the White Tiger came; finally the Azure Dragon became the leading of these four mythological symbols and they each took their own compass and dominate what people wanted.




Orchester des Nordharzer stadtebundtheaters




MD Johannes Rieger

Halberstadt, Germany, May 17th 2017

bottom of page